Maywood is a village in Cook county, approximately 11 miles West of Chicago's Loop, on the west bank of the Des Plaines River . It is an Illinois home-rule corporation, and was organized in 1881. The village was named after May, the deceased daughter of Maywood's founder, Colonel William T. Nichols. Starting in 1870, Nichols began developing the community to hopefully become a desirable suburb. Wide streets were laid out, trees were planted, and building commenced. Train service, a school, churches, a post office, grocery stores, and parks were all amenities that they hoped would attract residents to the area. After the American Can Company closed its doors in Maywood in the late 1970s, the village experienced many changes. Economic decline and change had a drastic impact on industry and business in the area, as well as demographics. Today, Maywood boasts tons of historic homes and landmarks. The village is served by Metra commuter railroad Union Pacific/West Line.
Chat software by BoldChat